

THE LAND AND THE PEOPLE OF GREAT BRITAIN

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland is the official name of the state which is situated in the British Isles.

It consists of four countries which are England, Scotland, wales and Northern Ireland.



The UK is an island state. The two main islands are Great Britain and Ireland.



Everyone who was born in Britain is British.

People from England are English.

People from Scotland are Scottish or the Scotts.

People from Northern Ireland are Irish.

People from Wales are Welsh.



English

Welsh





Scottish



Irish



London, Manchester and Liverpool are big industrial cities.



London



Liverpool



Manchester

Much of land in Britain is open country.









THE UNION JACK



The flag of the United Kingdom is known as the Union Jack. It is made of three crosses:

the cross of St. George (the patron saint of England), the cross of St. Andrew (the patron saint of Scotland), the cross of St. Patrick (the patron saint of Ireland).