

THE UNITED KINGDOM

The UK (United Kingdom) consists of four countries – England, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales.

It is situated in the north-west of Europe.





The total area of the country is 243 sq. km

It occupies the British Isles, which lie off the north-west coast of Europe.



The longest river is the Thames



The capital city is London



The largest cities are Birmingham, Leeds, Glasgow, Sheffield, Manchester



